Only five days remaining to nominate for YJA Awards

By | October 10, 2018

Nominations Closing for YJA Yachtsman of the Year Awards, 2018

Final days to nominate – Closing date October 14

Nominations for the Yachting Journalists’ Association prestigious annual awards, the Yachtsman of the Year and Young Sailor of the Year awards are drawing to a close on October 14.

Established in 1955, the recipients of this award include the greatest sailors of the past sixty years, recognising the incredible achievements of the UK’s sports stars on the global stage.

This is the oldest yachtsman of the year trophy in the world, and the list of winners engraved upon its base is the envy of every other similar trophy.

Previous winners include Sir Ben Ainslie (five times), Sir Robin Knox-Johnston (four times), and Dame Ellen MacArthur (three times). The present holder is Alex Thomson, awarded for his remarkable performance in last year’s Vendée Globe solo round the world race.

The Young Sailor of the Year Trophy was initiated in 1993, and last year’s winner was Montel Fagan-Jordon, aged 18, a student from the Greig Academy in Tottenham, London, who raised money to restore the 1980’s classic American Admiral’s Cup yacht Scaramouche, then led a crew of fellow students, sailing the fully restored yacht in last year’s Fastnet Race.

Anyone may nominate sailors for these awards, but the nominations will close at midnight on Sunday, October 14, 2018.

Nominations can be made by email to Detail which award the nomination is being made for, and include a brief description of your reasons. Please also include your own contact details so we can request additional information if required. The winners will be announced towards the end of this year.

The YJA is also accepting entries for your YJA Young Blogger of the Year Awards, open for anyone under the age of 21 on  December 31, 2018. Full details available at