National Sailing Hall of Fame inducts 13 sailors

Sailing Hall of Fame inductees on stage

The National Sailing Hall of Fame (NSHOF) has inducted thirteen sailors during its 12th ceremony, held in Newport, Rhode Island.

The inductees were nominated by sailors from across the United States. Nominations were reviewed by a Selection Committee comprised of representatives from the NSHOF Board, previous inductees, the sailing media, the sailing industry, community sailing, a maritime museum, the cruising community and US Sailing.

With this year’s class, the National Sailing Hall of Fame is now 114 inductees strong.

“These are exceptional sailors and equally exceptional people whose contributions to the sport span more than 200 years,” says Gus Carlson, president of the National Sailing Hall of Fame. “Through their accomplishments, they provide inspiration to all who have known them and know about them and to generations of sailors to come.

Nominees for the Lifetime Achievement Award must be American citizens, 55 years of age or older, who have achieved success in sailing and outside of sailing and have given back to the sport in some significant manner.

From top left (left to right descending): Ed Adams, Absalom Boston, Doris Colgate, Roy E. Disney (lifetime achievement), Bruce Farr OBE, Garry Hoyt, Terry Kohler (lifetime achievement), Bill Lee, Jonathan McKee, Lin & Lawerence Pardey, Nick Scandone, Frances Wakeman (lifetime achievement).

The NSHOF Class of 2022 includes:

  • Ed Adams – Racing legend and coach, Adams excelled in college, World Championship and offshore competitions. As a coach, his teams have won numerous Olympic and World Championship titles.
  • Absalom Boston – Mariner, entrepreneur and civil leader, Boston was the first African American to captain a whaleship with an all-black crew in 1822.
  • Doris Colgate – From teaching, to mentoring, to writing, to founding organisations that get more women on the water, Colgate has dedicated her life to advancing opportunities for women in sailing. She and her husband, Steve (Class of 2015) built the Offshore Sailing School into a successful business that helps many sailors safely enjoy their time on the water.
  • Bruce Farr OBE – Innovative champion sailor, he was the naval architect for seven America’s Cup campaigns and his firm was responsible for hundreds of breakthrough designs that influenced the direction of yacht design across the globe.
  • Garry Hoyt – Sailor and marketing executive, he competed in three Olympic Games and multiple one-design championships. Hoyt is the founder of Freedom Yachts and holds ten patents for innovations that make sailing “simpler.”
  • Bill Lee – Yacht designer known for his motto of “fast is fun”, Lee designed fast, yet easy-to-sail boats that racked up multiple awards. He is the founder of the Santa Cruz Boat Company.
  • Jonathan McKee – Accomplished competitor with multiple world championship titles and Olympic Bronze and Gold Medals, McKee was the head coach for the 1992 United States Olympic Sailing Team, which took home medals in 9 of 10 classes.
  • Lin and Lawerence Pardey – Legendary cruisers, the Pardeys circumnavigated the globe twice on two wooden boats under 30 feet with no engines, that they built themselves. They shared their adventures through instructional films, hundreds of lectures and 12 books, inspiring generations of cruisers.
  • Nick Scandone – Paralympic champion, Scandone defied a diagnosis of ALS to be named the Rolex Yachtsman of the Year in 2005 and won a Paralympic Gold Medal in 2008. He proudly carried the American flag at the Opening Ceremony in Beijing on behalf of the entire American team.

The Lifetime Achievement Award recipients for 2022 are Roy E. Disney, Terry Kohler and Frances Wakeman.

“Recognising sailors who history would otherwise forget is notable and laudable and critical to sailing’s strength,” says Richard Jepsen, president of US Sailing. “As we try to grow our sport beyond its current bounds, promoting the extraordinary careers of historic figures who might otherwise fade from history is as essential as it is courageous. We want people who are considering sailing to see people who look like them being appreciated and honoured by the pinnacle of the sport, The National Sailing Hall of Fame.”

The members of the Class of 2022 join 101 current National Sailing Hall of Famers, all of whom are featured in the Legends of Sailing exhibition at The Sailing Museum, which recently opened in Newport.

Nominations are accepted year-round online. The deadline for Class of 2023 nominees is 31 January 2022.

Comments are closed.